français | english |
bao i dao - tai chi chuan bao i dao - tai chi chuan


 

 

 

 


Bui Xuan Quang

Bùi Xuân Quang


tai chi chuan
within bao i dao school

Questions and answers
with Bùi Xuân Quang

How did you start Tai Chi?

I actually started with " external " martial arts. In 1957, I followed my first karate courses with Mr. Plée in his dojo, Montagne Sainte Geneviève street (rue de la Montagne Sainte Geneviève), the first European dojo. I was then 16 years old. In November 1957, Master Murakami arrived in France. We were among the first ones, my schoolmates and I, to discover true Japanese karate. Michel Hsu also started karate during that year, but I only met him several years later, in the early 60s. I began teaching karate in 1970, followed by Aikido, in the middle of the 80s, in a flexible form initiated by Pierre Lapébie, called Aikijundo.

In 1993, Patrick Kelly went to Europe to teach Master Huang Sheng Shyan's Tai Chi. I then realised that my research in external martial arts was over. Therefore I stopped practising karate and aikido to fully concentrate on Tai Chi Chuan. Michel Hsu, a then karate and full contact teacher, did the same.

You practised some Tai Chi before meeting Patrick Kelly...

Indeed, I began with Abbot Li Huang Hua. I practised the form with Pierre Lapébie. But even at the time, I knew the truth was elsewhere.

What exactly triggered your choice of giving up all the other martial arts to practise Tai Chi Chuan?

It is a matter of personal evolution. I started with tough karate, Shotokan, probably like most karate practitioners. Then Master Murakami, my teacher at that time, followed the way of Great Master Egami, founder of Shotokai, a very spirit-linked karate (his pupil, Aoki, was inspired by Shotokai when he created Shintaido). I thought Shotokai involved too much use of the body, and did not make the mind evolve enough. I then modified some details with my knowledge of Tai Chi, which seemed enough for me at the time. William Lionetti, who is a former pupil of mine, is still teaching this form of karate. He is now a high level Jiu Jitsu fighter. The Tai Chi Chuan form of Master Huang and taught by Patrick Kelly arrived at the right time. I needed more space, in a figurative way, to evolve. And Patrick Kelly offers one of the very few open doors to the world of authentic Tai Chi Chuan.

What is Tai Chi Chuan for you?

Tai Chi Chuan is a fighting art that considers all the essential elements from the basics. In deep. The position of one's own body, one's environment, the Earth, the sky. Intuition, sensitivity. An opening of all your senses to listen to your body and your opponent's in full awareness. Tai Chi Chuan goes far beyond the concept of self-defence. We could say that it is the art of energy control. This is why, thanks to my experience, Tai Chi practice guides me in my life.

Who can practice Tai Chi Chuan with you?

Those who want to develop their human potential, body, sensitivity, mind, by energy control and who agree to make efforts to achieve this goal. Those who want to rapidly learn a self-defence art, and those who look for the great harmony of the universe without effort will be disappointed. A lot of people would like to play Mozart and impress their audience, but only a few like music enough to make the efforts to the learn of piano.

I do not aspire to teach Tai Chi Chuan to a great number of pupils, but I do hope that I can help those who truly like Tai Chi Chuan and who trust me, in order to develop all the potential of their body, sensitivity, mind, in the best possible way.

français | english |
bao i dao - tai chi chuan bao i dao - tai chi chuan


 

 

 

 


Bui Xuan Quang

Bùi Xuân Quang


le tai chi chuan
dans l'école bao idao

Questions à Bùi Xuân Quang

Comment avez-vous commencé le Tai Chi ?

En fait, j’ai commencé avec les arts martiaux dits « externes ». En 1957, j’ai fait mes premiers pas de karaté avec M. Plée dans sa salle rue de la Montagne Sainte Geneviève, le premier dojo européen. J’avais 16 ans. Puis, en novembre 1957, maître Murakami était arrivé. Nous étions parmi les premiers, mes camarades de lycée et moi, à faire la connaissance du vrai karaté japonais. Michel Hsu a commencé aussi le karaté à cette date mais je ne l’ai rencontré que plus tard, vers le début des années 60. Je commençai à enseigner le karaté en 1970, ensuite l’aïkido vers le milieu des années 80, sous une forme souple proposée par Pierre Lapébie et appelée Aikijundo.

En 1993, Patrick Kelly est venu en Europe pour diffuser l’enseignement du maître Huang Sheng Shyan. Je réalisais alors que ma recherche dans le karaté et l’aïkido était arrivée à son terme. J’ai donc arrêté le karaté et l’aïkido pour consacrer tout mon temps au Tai Chi Chuan. Michel Hsu qui était professeur de karaté et de full contact a fait de même.

Vous aviez déjà pratiqué le Tai Chi avant votre rencontre avec Patrick Kelly…

Oui, j’ai débuté avec l’abbé Li Huang Hua, puis j’ai pratiqué la forme avec Pierre Lapébie. Mais je savais que la vérité se trouvait ailleurs.

Qu’est-ce qui vous a poussé à abandonner les autres arts martiaux pour le Tai Chi Chuan ?

C’est une évolution personnelle. J’ai commencé par le karaté dur, le Shotokan, à peu près comme la plupart des pratiquants du karaté. Puis, maître Murakami, mon professeur, a suivi le chemin du grand maître Egami, le fondateur du Shotokaï, un karaté très mental. (Son élève, Aoki s’est inspiré de l’essence du Shotokaï pour créer le Shintaïdo). Je trouvais que le Shotokaï sacrifiait trop le corps aux dépens du développement du mental, alors je modifiais quelques détails avec mes connaissances du Tai Chi d’alors. Cela me paraissait suffisant. J’ai un ancien élève, William Lionetti, qui continue actuellement à enseigner cette forme de karaté. William Lionetti est devenu un combattant en Jiu Jitsu de haut niveau. Le Tai Chi Chuan de maître Huang enseigné par Patrick Kelly est arrivé au bon moment. J’avais besoin de plus d’espace, au sens figuré, pour évoluer. Et Patrick Kelly offre une des très rares portes ouvertes vers le monde du Tai Chi Chuan authentique.

Qu’est-ce pour vous, le Tai Chi Chuan ?

Le Tai Chi Chuan est un art du combat dont la stratégie est basée sur une profonde connaissance de la nature. Il faut travailler l’écoute de son propre corps (la « forme »,  lente ou rapide) puis l’écoute de l’adversaire (le travail à deux). On peut dire que le Tai Chi Chuan est l’art du contrôle des énergies. Sa pratique exige de mettre en jeu tout le potentiel humain : la puissance physique, la sensibilité, la pensée.

Qui peut pratiquer le Tai Chi Chuan avec vous ?

Ceux qui désirent développer leur potentiel humain, corps, sensibilité, esprit, dans la maîtrise de l’énergie et qui acceptent de faire des efforts pour cela. Ceux qui cherchent à apprendre rapidement un art de self-défense, comme ceux qui veulent atteindre la grande harmonie de l’univers sans effort seront vite déçus. Beaucoup de gens aimeraient pouvoir jouer du Mozart et briller devant une assistance mais fort peu aiment suffisamment la musique pour faire les efforts nécessaires à l’étude du piano.

Je n’ai pas l’ambition d’enseigner le Tai Chi Chuan à un grand nombre d’élèves, mais d’aider ceux qui aiment réellement le Tai Chi Chuan et qui me font confiance, à développer le potentiel de leur corps, sensibilité, esprit, le mieux possible.